What’s your forgotten favourite?

There are the books that everyone remembers. Whole generations grew up on Narnia or Harry Potter.

And then there are the books that no-one remembers. Except you. And unless you happen to have held onto a copy, you might end up thinking that you just imagined them, that they never really existed.

Such a book is Peter and the Plaguey Blight.

ppb

I guess this was what cutting edge cover art looked like in 1980. How a child could resist, I do not know.

I wasn’t that into it at first. Something about the gangrene-esque quality of the cover put me off. But I ended up reading it a lot, because it was – for some reason – the only children’s book lying around at my Granny’s house, where we spent the long summer holidays. The nearest library was a good bus ride away, Amazon didn’t exist and we wouldn’t have had money for it if it did. This was the 80s. And so I read it again and again. It was about a boy called Peter, striving to overcome some kind of mutant mould – the Plaguey Blight. There was adventure, as I remember, and humour, and a building sense of menace. It wasn’t bad. I got used to it. I got to quite like it. It was pretty good. I don’t know if can exactly call it a favourite after all – but I’ve certainly never forgotten it. Unlike, it appears, the rest of the world.

So, what’s your favourite forgotten book? And does anyone else remember Peter and the Plaguey Blight?

About Leila

Author of Chips, Beans and Limousines and other books for children and young people. Director of Megaphone writer development programme: www.megaphonewrite.com

Posted on April 1, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Over to you

